top of page

RHHS Marching Band Update #3

Hello RHHS Marching Band!

This is email #3. If you need to see either of the first two emails, you can find them in the 2022 Marching Band Google Drive folder here -> https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/15lU94EZZrdnUjH7jH6sM0lYziiW2iiNo?usp=sharing. And hey - you know what else you can find in there - recordings of the five big pieces that you are learning with a “count-in” at the beginning. Check it out - I think it might make things easier for you.

I wanted to remind everyone that the Marching Band Google Form must be filled out by every student by tomorrow (Thursday) night. I can not write a SINGLE PAGE of drill until everyone has responded, and I need to start writing over the weekend. Of course all of the information is in email #2, which you can find using the link above.

Here are a few reminders for you:

*You should now be one week into the process of learning your Marching Band music. My hope is that you’ve gotten all of the notes and rhythms worked out at a slow tempo by this point, though I am still happy to assist with anything that you see in your music. Simply send me your questions and I’ll respond as quickly as possible! It is now time to get the music up to tempo. Here is the practice schedule that I recommended last week:

*July 1-9: Learn the music at a slow tempo and mark all challenging sections in whatever way is helpful for you.

*July 10-16: Learn the music at the printed tempos, continuing to mark every mistake and challenging section.

*July 17-23: Continue to practice everything, and memorize the pregame music (and drum cadence for drummers).

*July 24-30: Continue to practice everything, and memorize the warm-up piece.

*July 31 - August 14: Continue to practice everything and memorize the halftime music.

*As you practice your music, remember to use the recordings, tap your foot to keep time, make frequent pencil markings, take your music to your private lessons, and practice at least a little bit every day.

*Please get rehearsal and performance dates onto your family calendar. Attendance is absolutely necessary for us to get our job done safely. Also, don’t forget our Band Parent meeting on August 26th.

*I take the “commitment” part of the Google Form very seriously (as I do with all commitments in my Band Program and in my life). If you can not, at this moment, make the commitment to be on the field with us in the Fall, we need to make arrangements now so that others’ experience is not affected. Thank you!

A note for athletes - all conflicts with River Hill sports teams will be worked out according to county guidelines. What I am asking for from athletes is your practice schedule for the two weeks of Band Camp. Please send that to me as soon as it is available.

A note for woodwind players - I am still waiting for instruments to return from the shop. I will let you know as soon as they are available for sign-out.

And finally, for everyone - THE 2022 MARCHING BAND IS GOING TO BE GREAT! I can not wait to get out there with you and remind the community of what an important role we play at River Hill. (And it’s tons of fun too!)

Thank you for completing your Google Form by tomorrow night! I am here if you need me.

Musically,

Mr. B.




Featured Posts

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
bottom of page