top of page

RHHS Band Placement Auditions

Happy New Year to the River Hill Band Program! I hope that you have all been enjoying the Winter Break.


This is to let you know that placement audition music for the 2021-2022 school year has been posted. All auditions will be video-recorded this year, and I need your submissions by January 30th. It is important that all current 9th-, 10th-, and 11th-graders make recordings, not only for class placement, but also for seating for next fall. This activity is optional for current 12th-graders. : )



I think the easiest way to get you to the music is to send you to the “Future Hawks” section of our Band Booster website, where everything is already posted for the 8th-graders in our community. This is also where you will go to upload your video and confirm your contact information via a Google Form. The web address is: https://rhhsband.wixsite.com/boosters/future-hawks.


The audition music is intentionally quite difficult, and you need to record what you see in order to be considered for the Wind Ensemble. If, however, you are content with playing in the Concert or Symphonic Band next year, you may choose to record something else. In this case, you will need to upload a scan of your music so I can read along as I listen. Current Wind Ensemble students need to play the audition music that is posted on the website.


I know that this deadline seems very early. Please understand that all of River Hill’s music teachers advocated for a later audition date, but were told that January 30th was the absolute latest that we could accept recordings. This is frustrating because I will not have even seen many of my students by then and, for some 9th-graders, the last time I heard you play was at last year’s audition. Please just do the best you can, and let me know if you need assistance. As always, private instruction is the very best thing that you can do to supplement your school music education, and most, if not all, of our local teachers are giving virtual lessons. Please let me know if you are ready for me to suggest a private teacher for you.


The school year continues to present many challenges, and I am thankful to be navigating them with the support, enthusiasm, and good humor of my amazing Band students and parents!

Musically,

Mr. B.

Featured Posts

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
bottom of page