top of page

Marching Band Update #6

Hello Marching Band Students and Parents! This is Marching Band Update #6. If you need to see any of the previous updates, please visit our amazing Band Booster website at https://rhhsband.wixsite.com/boosters.

We are one week from the start of Band Camp, and I would like to update you on safety procedures that we will have in place to keep EVERYONE safe. I did hear from the HCPSS Music Office and I am thankful to say that, as expected, all of the marching bands in the county have been instructed to institute comprehensive music-specific safety protocols. We will be using musician’s masks and bell covers, all of which I will be picking up for you this Thursday - you do not have to purchase anything. Our music rehearsals will be either outside, or inside in small groups that would allow us to have 6 feet between students. As I always say, the health and well-being of my students is my number one priority, and this Marching Band season will be no exception.

So we move forward! I am finishing up the lengthy (but gratifying!) process of writing drill for your show and I wanted to give you a sneak peek. I think this will illustrate why I take the commitment to participate and to be present so seriously. This can not work without everyone! Check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33QqFBw15zY

I wanted to say a few ‘thank you’s:

*to everyone who assisted with uniform inventory on Friday

*to percussionists who are getting together for two rehearsals this coming week

*to the many students who have written to me to tell me how excited you are for Marching Band to start 😊

*to parents who have already signed up to assist with dinners, uniforms, performances, etc. (we still need LOTS more help!) at https://www.signupgenius.com/go/20f054eaeaf2ea75-202122

*to ALL Band parents (our Band Boosters) who have supported the purchase of some cool new Marching Band equipment - you’ll see it soon!

By now every student should have signed up for a uniform fitting at https://www.signupgenius.com/go/30E0D44ACA72BA2FE3-marching. Thank you.

Musically, we should all be coming into the home stretch with memorization. I know it can be tempting to just assume that “the person next to me will learn it so I don’t really have to,” but I want you to have a POSITIVE Band Camp experience, and you’ll need to have those six pieces (and “HawkWalk” for percussion) memorized by the beginning of week 2 in order to make your complete contribution and enjoy everything to the fullest!

Attendance will be taken by student leaders every day at camp at 4:00. Please feel free to arrive as early as 3:30 if you need any assistance with anything, or just want to take your time setting up. Remember to bring the following:

*dinner (unless you are stationary and will leave after music rehearsal)

*water bottle labeled with your name

*shorts with pockets

*sneakers

*music, instrument, and pencil

*all music in plastic page protectors and placed in a 1/2-inch, 3-ring binder labeled clearly with your name and instrument

Remember also that our first performance is on September 3rd, and that you’ll need a pair of compression shorts to go under your uniform. Oh - and don’t forget about our Band Parent Meeting on the last day of Camp at 7:00. You’ll get lots of great info, and then you’ll be able to cheer on the kids at the first public run-through of their show!

I think that’s it…. Let me know if you have any questions.

Musically,

Mr. B.

Michael Blackman RHHS Bands Michael_Blackman@HCPSS.org mobile: (301)741-0312


Featured Posts

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
bottom of page