top of page

Marching Band Update #5

Good Evening! This is Marching Band Update #5. If you need to see any of the previous updates, please visit our amazing Band Booster website at https://rhhsband.wixsite.com/boosters.

I would like to begin by acknowledging the fact that we are, once again, headed into uncertain times with concerns about staying safe and healthy. While I do not have answers to every question at this point, I do want to be as transparent as possible. While I have yet to receive any guidance from the school system, I have been thinking a lot about possible modifications to our original Band Camp plans. I am not concerned about our outdoor work - that should not present any problems. I am, however, a little worried about our indoor music rehearsals and, while it is truly preferable for us all to be together in the Band Room, I am looking at some other options. If I can not get another indoor space that will allow us to spread out then my thought is that we rehearse music outside or, if the weather is not cooperative, we rehearse in sections using multiple classrooms in the building. I continue to think about and work on these issues every day, and I assure you that my students’ safety is always my top priority.

OK, so let’s do a check-in. Here is what you have already completed:

*You are finding time on your instrument every day, and you have learned all of your music. You have memorized “The Hymn of Acxiom,” “The Star-Spangled Banner,” and “Go Hawks Go.” The three field pieces need to be memorized by August 23rd, so I would think that at least one of them is memorized by now.

*Marching Percussionists have learned “HawkWalk” and are starting to memorize.

*You have placed your music in plastic page protectors and then into a 1/2-inch 3-ring binder, clearly labeled with your name and instrument.

*RETURNING MARCHERS have contacted me if they need a new t-shirt. I am definitely concerned about this one, because I have only heard from two people. I have not placed the order yet, so PLEASE get on this today. Find your shirt, try it on, and make sure it fits. We will wear the t-shirts to school on every home football game day and I want you to be comfortable.

*You have committed to the rehearsal and performance schedule (and have placed those dates on your family calendar), and you have committed to keeping Band in your schedule for this school year. THANK YOU!

*You have updated Charms.

*You have signed up for a uniform fitting. It looks like we may be off to a slow start here. EVERYONE must sign up for a fitting at https://www.signupgenius.com/go/30E0D44ACA72BA2FE3-marching.

*Athletes have sent me their practice schedule for August 16th - August 27th.

Here are a couple of clothing reminders:

*At Band Camp you will need sneakers, and pants with pockets.

*You will need a pair of compression shorts for performances.

Parents - please consider signing up to help out during Marching Band season. Your kids need lots of support in order to be successful, so I am asking that one parent from each family will volunteer for one item on this list: https://www.signupgenius.com/go/20f054eaeaf2ea75-202122. These needs are REAL. Thank you so much!

Finally, thank you so much to all of the parents and students who helped out with the MASCB fundraiser this past weekend. Everything went very smoothly, the visiting musicians raved about their delicious lunches, and we made a good profit for the Band Boosters!

As always, please let me know if I can help with anything.

Musically,

Mr. B.

Michael Blackman RHHS Bands Michael_Blackman@HCPSS.org mobile: (301)741-0312


Featured Posts

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
bottom of page