top of page

Marching Band Update #2

Hello RHHS Marching Band!

I wanted to remind everyone that the Marching Band Google Form must be filled out by every student by tomorrow (Sunday) night. I can not write a SINGLE PAGE of drill until everyone has responded, and I need to start writing on Monday. If you need to see my last email (which has TONS of important info), you can find it on the Band Booster website -> https://rhhsband.wixsite.com/boosters

Here are a few reminders for you:

*This coming Thursday is the Drum Corps International event at the movie theatre. Please join me - it’s going to be AWESOME! https://shop.regmovies.com/Ticketing/visSelectTickets.aspx?&cinemacode=1310&txtSessionId=132082&setUserSessionId=13d41710d8b54fdea29e588181356eec

*You should now be one week into the process of learning your Marching Band music. My hope is that you’ve gotten all of the notes and rhythms worked out at a slow tempo by this point, though I am still happy to assist with anything that you see in your music. Simply send me your questions and I’ll respond as quickly as possible! It is now time to get the music up to tempo.

*As you practice your music, remember to use the recordings, tap your foot to keep time, make frequent pencil markings, take your music to your private lessons, and practice at least a little bit every day.

*Please get rehearsal and performance dates onto your family calendar. Attendance is absolutely necessary for us to get our job done safely. Also, don’t forget our Band Parent meeting on August 27th.

I do have a little bit of new information:

A note for flute and piccolo players - on “The Hymn of Acxiom,” please split the divisisection in the following manner:

last name A-L play top notes

last name M-Z play bottom notes

A note for athletes - all conflicts with River Hill sports teams will be worked out according to county guidelines. What I am asking for from athletes is your practice schedule for the two weeks of Band Camp. Please send that to me as soon as it is available.

A note for woodwind players - Our instruments are not back from the shop yet. However, if you can not practice because you do not own any version of the instrument that you will be playing in Marching Band (for example, you do not have ANY kind of saxophone, or you do not have ANY kind of clarinet), please let me know right away. I have a couple of instruments reserved for situations like yours.

And finally, for everyone - MARCHING BAND IS GOING TO BE GREAT! I can not wait to get out there with you and remind the community of what an important role we play at River Hill. And guess what - our new principal is just as excited for us as I am! More on that later…. : )

Thank you for completing your Google Form by tomorrow night! I am here if you need me.

Musically,

Mr. B.

Featured Posts

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
bottom of page